Don’t Like "Privatization"? How about "Personalization"?

Facing opposition to their plans to divert Social Security money into private accounts, Republicans are now defining their plan as “personalization.” According to reports on Salon.com and the Washington Post a Republican Party retreat provided the faithful wiht a “playbook” that noted that the term privatization should be avoided because it “connotes the total corporate takeover of Social Security.”

Some quotes from the Republican party playbook, which you can find on the blog Talking Points Memo:


“For example, to most Americans building wealth sounds unattainable—especially in the context of Social Security. But on the other hand, putting aside a nest egg sounds like common sense. Another example: Calling the trust fund meaningless will raise hackles. Taxpayers believe it is the source of the monthly checks paid out by Social Security. But, everyone agrees that it is an empty promise.”

“Offer an alternate reality: Talk about how much more money they’d have for retirement if they themselves had been investing in a personal account all these years. Add that personal accounts would enable young, minimum-wage workers to enjoy dignity in retirement.”

And by the way, when is someone in the press going to challenge the totally insane idea that these private accounts will grow to the point that they’ll consititute an “nest egg” for our children? So it’s going to be American social policy to underwrite a reasonable inheritance for every future generation? Why aren’t conservatives protesting this vast new “entitlement” plan?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Like "Privatization"? How about "Personalization"?

  1. Lover says:

    Hi there Tobias I am out researching for the newest information on louisiana genealogy and encountered your site. Although Don’t Like wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, it certaninly got my attention and intrest. I see now why I found your page when I was looking for louisiana genealogy associated information, and I’m glad I stopped by even though this isn’t a perfect match.

    Smashing post, Thanks for the read!

  2. autoparts says:

    I just came across your blog about new york genealogy and wanted to drop you a note telling you how impressed I was with the information you have posted here. I also have a web site about new york genealogy so I know what I’m talking about when I say your site is top-notch! Keep up the great work, you are providing a great resource on the Internet here! If you get a chance, please stop by new york genealogy

  3. Sugar Glider Man says:

    Hi there Tobias I am out exploring for the latest information on louisiana genealogy and noticed your site. Although Don’t Like wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, it certaninly got my attention and intrest. I see now why I found your page when I was looking for louisiana genealogy associated information, and I’m glad I stopped by even though this isn’t a perfect match.

    Smashing post, Thanks for the read!

Leave a Reply

