Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing

From the Workers Indepenent News:

AFL-CIO and Change to Win find solidarity in grassroots
The AFL-CIO says an agreement in principle with the Change to Win Federation will keep the state and local labor movements united.
Read the complete story: http://www.laborradio.org/node/1706
Listen: www.laborradio.org/files/lo/winsheadlines.ram

And from Change to Win:

We’ve had positive discussions with the AFL-CIO during the past week and believe that that both organizations are interested in reaching an agreement that allows all locals to work together in partnership in their communities. We are hopeful that an agreement will happen soon, especially now that the AFL-CIO recognizes the right of Change to Win members to run for and hold office in state and local bodies. We look forward to further productive discussions in the weeks ahead to resolve financial issues.

To emphasize, the crucial point is that the AFL-CIO apparently has agreed to let CtW members hold office in state and local labor bodies. Good news for the state feds and central labor councils, as they were facing the prospect of losing some good leaders.

Might this be a model whereby state and local labor bodies welcome other organizations (not just unions) that share their goals? If so, these local bodies would be much more powerful at mobilizing community and voter pressure in support of pro-worker legislation.

This entry was posted in Labor. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing

  1. Anny says:

    This is a diamond ace content blog Tobias and after reading Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing I thought I’d send you a shout out. My main project is for organise life

  2. Anny says:

    This is a diamond ace content blog Tobias and after reading Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing I thought I’d send you a shout out. My main project is for tips for organizing

  3. Anny says:

    This is a diamond ace content blog Blogger and after reading Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing I thought I’d send you a shout out. My main project is for organize life

  4. Anny says:

    Tobias I have written extensively on organize household and appreciate your post Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing as it supports my research. Thanks. Nathan

  5. Anny says:

    Tobias, I’m hunting around for stuff on organise home and this on Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing has been interesting. I’m developing a course for organise home. Nathan

  6. Anny says:

    Tobias, I’m hunting around for stuff on how to organize your life and this on Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing has been interesting. I’m developing a course for how to organize your life. Nathan

  7. Anny says:

    Tobias, I’m hunting around for stuff on organize your home and this on Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing has been interesting. I’m developing a course for organize your home. Nathan

  8. Toby Higbie says:

    Looks like someone’s auto-commenting program found this site by mistake. Please go away, Nathan.

  9. Anny says:

    Just wanted to say that I’ve sent some notes I gathered from your blog including Solidarity Charters Gain Solid Footing for research on organization skills which I’m helping with, with so thanks a lot Tobias. Anny.

Leave a Reply

