Iowa at the Cutting Edge


Matrimonio Para Todos
Originally uploaded by Tobias Higbie

Bughouse Square has been on a long hiatus. My hands were full with raising twin 3 year olds, trying to hold down a job, and moving the family west to Los Angeles for a new job. Honestly, I thought the blog was dead.

But I had to come out of hiding to send greetings to BoyWonder who found his picture on my blog in a random search. “Matrimonio Para Todos” is one of my favorite pics from the Outspoken set, so I’m very pleased to meet you, BoyWonder.

And it’s timely, since a judge in Iowa recently struck down the state’s “Defense of Marriage Act” and ordered the Polk County recorder to issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples. (There’s a Tribune story on it here). Of course, the order was almost immediately halted, but not until several couples received valid licenses. So this is definitely going to be a big national hoopla, since the Iowa caucuses are coming.

I found the quote from an Iowa Republican party official interesting: Despite supporting “traditional marriage,” she said “I don’t think it’s going to be the end of the world if gay couples seek to be married.” Indeed.

Can it be that gay-marriage-as-wedge-issue has run its course now that Rove is out of office and several closeted Republicans have been outed? We can only hope. But I doubt it.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iowa at the Cutting Edge

  1. Tim Lacy says:

    Toby: Welcome back! If the gay marriage issue hasn’t run its course with conservatives, I think it has with the upcoming batch of moderate, electable conservatives. I think Evangelical Republicanism is out in the upcoming election. – TL

    PS – Don’t forget forget to change your “about me” to reflect the fact that you’re now a part of the sunny southern CA set.

  2. Toby Higbie says:

    Tim: I hope you are right. After all, how many electable conservatives are there who aren’t in locked-down safe seats? 2008 is shaping up to be a total loss for the Reps.

    Mentally, I’m still in the Midwest. But yes, I guess I’ll have to change my profile. –Toby

Leave a Reply

