To dream the dreams the state said were wrong

Richard Wright in his study, NYC 1943“I was building up in me a dream which the entire educational system of the South had been rigged to stifle. I was feeling the very thing that the state of Mississippi had spent millions of dollars to make sure that I would never feel; I was becoming aware of the thing that the Jim Crow laws had been drafted and passed to keep out of my consciousness; I was acting on impulses that southern senators in the nation’s capital had striven to keep out of Negro life; I was beginning to dream the dreams that the state had said were wrong, that the schools had said were taboo.”

Richard Wright, Black Boy (American Hunger): A Record of Childhood and Youth (1945), p. 169.

This entry was posted in Document, History and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

